A Loving home for every child

SOS Childrens villages - jordan

Family Based Care Programme

This programme is seen as the backbone for care at SOS Children Villages Jordan. The programme consists of a community made of family houses, where each house is led by a mother who provides care and love for 5 to 7 children.
An SOS family is similar to a biological family in terms of variety of ages and gender. In the family house the children are raised as brothers and sisters until the age of 14. At this age the youth moves from the family house to a youth house. The youth live at the youth house until the age of 18.

The first SOS Children’s Village in Jordan was opened in Amman in 1987. This was the result of a meeting held in 1982 between Queen Noor Al-Hussein and Hermann Gmeiner, Founder of SOS Children’s Villages. SOS Children’s Villages Jordan has continued to grow since that date providing orphaned and abandoned children with: Care, Accommodation, Education & Skills, Protection and Social inclusion, Food Security, Physical Health, Livelihood, Social and Emotional Well-being, throughout the Kingdom.

In 1991, a second SOS Children’s Village was built in Aqaba, consisting of nine family houses that provide a home and a family to more orphans. A third SOS Children’s Village was then built in Irbid with twelve family houses, coinciding with SOS Children’s Villages’ 50th Anniversary Celebrations in 1999.

Youth Houses (between ages of 14 and 18)

SOS youth houses accommodate youth from the age of 14 till the age of 18. A youth house provides a home to 8 male or 8 female youth and each house is led by a male or female youth leader. Moving to an SOS youth house intends to be the first step towards an independent life outside SOS Children Villages. Currently in Jordan we have nine youth houses in the cities of Amman, Irbid and Aqaba.

Semi-independent residence (beyond 18 years old)

SOS continues to provide support for the youth beyond the age of 18 years old. This support includes financial and technical support for those who are still studying in either academic or vocational paths. As well as for those who are looking for employment.
We have strategic partnerships, where residence rental, household expenses, health insurance and personal expenses are covered by our partners for those youth.

About 300 youth have graduated from SOS since 1996. Some of them have reintegrated/reunited/reunification with their biological families or with their relatives. Others are living an independent life and are self-sufficient / self-reliant. Most of our graduates have successfully developed professional careers in different sectors of Jordan´s economy such as business, engineering, hospitality and pharmaceutical sectors among others.

منزل دافئ لكل طفل

SOS Childrens villages - jordan

برنامج الرعاية الأسرية

يعتبر هذا البرنامج العمود الفقري للرعاية في قرى الأطفال SOS الأردنية. إذ تتشكل قرى الأطفال من مجتمع يضم منازل أسرية وفي كل منزل توفر الأم الرعاية والمحبة لخمسة إلى سبعة أطفال.
تكون أسرة SOS شبيهة بالأسرة البيولوجية من ناحية تباين سن الأطفال وجنسهم، وتتم رعايتهم وتنشئتهم كإخوة وأخوات. ويغادر الأطفال القرى إلى بيوت الشباب/ الشابات في سن 14 وحتى سن 18 عاماً.

افتتحت أول قرية أطفال SOS في الأردن في عام 1987 في العاصمة عمان، جاء ذلك نتيجة لقاء عقد عام 1982 بين جلالة الملكة نور الحسين المعظمة وهيرمان جماينر مؤسس قرى الأطفال SOS العالمية. وتواصل قرى الأطفال SOS الأردنية نموها منذ ذلك الحين، حيث قدمت وما زالت تقدّم خدمات عالية الجودة للأطفال الأيتام وفاقدي السند الأسري في جميع أنحاء المملكة.
في عام 1991، تم بناء قرية أطفال ثانية في مدينة العقبة تضم تسعة منازل عائلية لاستيعاب المزيد من الأطفال الأيتام وفاقدي السند الأسري، كما أنشئت قرية الأطفال SOS الثالثة في إربد عام 1999 في إطار احتفالات قرى الأطفال SOS العالمية بالذكرى السنوية الخمسين لإنشائها، وتضم القرية اثني عشر منزلاً عائلياً.

بيوت الشباب/الشابات (وتضم الشباب من سن 14 إلى 18 سنة)

ينتقل الأطفال من القرى إلى بيوت الشباب/ الشابات في سن 14 ويبقوا فيها حتى سن 18 عاماً. يضم كل بيت 8 شباب/ شابات مع مسؤول/ مسؤولة عنهم يقوم برعايتهم ومتابعة دراستهم والعمل على تطوير مهاراتهم وتهيئتهم للخروج إلى الحياة المستقلة اللاحقة لرعاية SOS. إن إنتقال الأطفال من القرية إلى بيوت الشباب تعتبر الخطوة الأولى نحو حياة مستقلة خارج قرى الأطفال SOS. حالياً في الأردن لدينا تسعة بيوت شباب وشابات في كل من عمان وإربد والعقبة.

السكن شبه المستقل (ما بعد سن الثامنة عشرة)

تستمر الجمعية بتقديم الدعم للشباب والشابات الذين تجاوزت أعمارهم 18 سنة، حيث يتضمن الدعم المالي والفني للذين مازالوا على مقاعد التعلم الأكاديمي أو المهني، إلى جانب مساعدتهم في الحصول على عمل.

بلغ عدد الشباب والشابات الذين تخرجوا منذ عام 1996 وحتى تاريخه ما يقارب 300 شاباً وشابة. منهم من التحق بعائلته البيولوجية أو بمن تربطه صلة قرابة، ومنهم من انتقل إلى حياة الإستقلالية والإعتماد على النفس، وآخرون عملوا في مهن مختلفة مثل الهندسة والصيدلة والفندقة والتمريض والإدارة.